For all official information and updates regarding Covid-19 visit the South African Department of Health website at or their WhatsApp line on 0600-123456. If you want your own WhatsApp Chatbot visit

{{item.currency}} {{pricing}}

{{item.currency}} {{pricing}} {{item.currency}} {{item.normalPrice}}

{{item.currency}} {{pricing}} - Out of Stock

Senior Phase (Grade 7 to 9)


The Senior Phase includes nine (eight in Grade 7 for 2014) compulsory subjects, namely:

Home Language

First Additional Language


Natural Sciences

Social Sciences (History in Grade 7 and to be offered for Grade 8 and 9 from 2015; Geography in Grade 7 to 9)

Life Orientation

Creative Arts

Economic and Management Sciences (Grade 8 and 9; Grade 7 will be offered from 2015)


Also offered additional elective subjects in Grade 8 and 9, namely:

Agricultural Sciences

Computer Applications Technology

Hospitality Studies

Hairdressing and Cosmetology


The Senior Phase includes the following additional non-examination subject:

Bible Studies.


The formal assessment in the Senior Phase consists of a test or examination per term.

Formal assessment in the Senior Phase


Continuous assessment components
(March, July and September)

Year-end assessment

Passing requirement

7 – 9

  • March test series
  • June examination
  • September test series
  • Final examination
  • Home Language: 50%
  • First Additional Language: 40%
  • Mathematics: 40%
  • Any three other compulsory subjects: 40%
  • Any other two compulsory subjects: 30%
Back Back to top